Open Forum

View Only
Expand all | Collapse all

Theatre Budget

• 1.  Theatre Budget

Posted 07-27-2017 14:48
    Hello Teachers!

I'm in my 3rd year teaching drama, and I am halfway through my masters program studying Curriculum Instruction with a concentration in Differentiated Instruction. 

I'm working on my research paper regarding funding for theatre programs and classes. If anyone is comfortable sharing with me if/if not their school provides a budget for your theatre program and how your program is impacted with this budget (if it is too much, or not enough) and any other personal experiences with the funding for the fine arts in your district, please reach out to me!

I would love to have a large amount of feedback and data to use in my action research report. 

Thank you,
    Chana
    cwilczynski@lfschools.net

------------------------------
    Chana-Lise Wilczynski
    5/6th Grade Drama Teacher
    Lake Forest IL

• 2.  RE: Theatre Budget

Posted 07-28-2017 10:42
    My school does not provide me with a budget. Everything we need must come from ticket sales and fund raising. We are able to produce two or three good plays a year with these funds. Fortunately I am an expert scrounger and can find what we can't afford to buy. I also make the costumes to save rental costs.

Ellen Di Filippo
    Tracy CA

• 3.  RE: Theatre Budget

Posted 07-28-2017 12:31
    We are not given any funding and have to do fundraisers to bring money into the program. It impacts the program when we spend time & energy fundraising instead of working on the craft. So, I have found three solutions for this:

1. I involve my officers with budgeting every show, with the intention of turning a profit. We still lose money sometimes, but the students learn a lot about budgeting & expenditure reports.

2. Arizona has a dollar for dollar tax credit for any taxpayer who donates up to $200 to extra curricular activities. This helps tremendously and it's a win-win.