Open Forum

View Only
  • 1.  Teaching in urban city high school

Posted 02-28-2016 15:18

Hello teachers. I need some advice please. I start substitute teaching Drama tomorrow in an urban city high school, and it could lead to a permanent job. It's a brand new department of all intro classes. I'm a veteran teacher & director and I've taught in similar situations but this is a tough school.  This year they've not had a real drama teacher, only substitute teachers so they're going to be a bit on the wild side I imagine. My classroom management is so-so. And of course I'll have no resources to speak of. The teaching location will be a regular classroom with little access to the school's auditorium. Anyone have advice on how to approach and teach there?

Thanks.

Mike Nangle

------------------------------
    Michael Nangle
    Mableton GA

• 2.  RE: Teaching in urban city high school

Posted 02-29-2016 05:55

You will do great!  One suggestion.  I subbed at for an English as a second languge class one time.  The kids were talking about gangs and other inappropiate things.  I was not thinking at the time, but later I wish that I had called security and gotten some help!  It was awful.  The school needs to know what is really going on.  It is not a reflection of your teaching if you report something.

Other ideas:  1) Improv. 2) Substituting one time I did a mock "American Idol" and the kids got up and sang...all of them! It was also a rough school. I had 3 judges, but I had some rules, they could only say positive things (no Simon sarcasm) no swearing or bad language.  It was really fun and the kids loved it.  I went first and they had fun with that.  Break a leg!

Corinne Walker
    Lyon, France

• 3.  RE: Teaching in urban city high school

Posted 02-29-2016 09:30

Hi,