Open Forum

View Only
  • 1.  Paint project idea, tech theatre

Posted 27 days ago

Hello! I am new to this forum and this is my first post.

I am a first year tech theatre teacher. I have not been fully satisfied with any of my units I have done all year, and I want to make sure this last one is a banger. 

I decided scenic painting techniques would be the way to go here. I have seen many projects where students build a flat, then use the flat as a canvas for paint. They will divide the flat into 4 sections, and each section will be different (wood grain, color gradient, scrumble, dry brush, etc). I would love to do this sort of thing with my students. 

I do not have the time or resources to teach them how to build flats though. I was wondering if anyone had any ideas on what alternative material I can use- something cheap, maybe 4'x4', and something that takes paint as well as a flat well. Also, something I could potentially pick up this weekend- I have an open encumbrance at Home Depot.

Has anyone done this? What was the best materials, techniques, and process to make it really successful? I don't want to fall flat on this one. Thanks!

------------------------------
    Troy Daly

• 2.  RE: Paint project idea, tech theatre

Posted 27 days ago

you could get pieces of cheap panelin, luan, or masonite, base paint them first though if you go this way

Jerry Onik
    V.P. Theatrical Supplies and Equipment
    Heartland Scenic Studio
    NE

• 3.  RE: Paint project idea, tech theatre

Posted 22 days ago

Hi! I'll chime in here, I'm so excited for you to do this! You are right, this will probably be very popular. I like sending the projects home with a comment form!