Open Forum

View Only
  • 1.  An Apology

Posted 03-30-2023 10:56

As Theatre in our Schools month comes to a close, I'm reminded that I don't actually have a theatre education-I was an English major in college-and there's been at least one time when I've regretted that.

In the late Eighties, I was an intern at the Ensemble Studio Theatre in New York City. I served as the assistant stage manager on a play called The Promise by José Rivera.

The Promise is full of magic and spectacle. Flowers fall from the sky. A man's soul rises out of his body. A dead woman materializes holding a bloody heart.

When the play was performed in Los Angeles, the spectacle was accomplished through the use of wires and pyrotechnics. For the act-one finale, a real bulldozer plowed onto the stage.

When it was performed in New York, at the underwhelmingly equipped EST, the magic was mostly me, the sound of a bulldozer (on a sound system like a really good clock radio), and two spirits: Earth Spirit and Sky Spirit.

The spirits were the director's idea. A terrible idea, actually. They were on-stage during the entire play. Sky Spirit wore a blue leotard. Earth Spirit wore a brown leotard. For the most part, they had nothing to do except crouch and look mysterious. It was as though a pair of Solid Gold dancers had wandered into the middle of the Long Island backyard where the play was set.

The spirits may have been the only thing wrong with the show that wasn't my fault. Early in the run, it became clear that I was not up to the task of assistant stage managing.

First, there was what became known as the Balloon Incident. In the play, a backyard wedding is decorated with a bunch of helium balloons. The spirit world is not happy about the wedding and lets its displeasure be known by suddenly popping all the balloons. I have no idea how this effect was accomplished in Los Angeles. At EST, the spirits used the ends of artificial flowers to pop the balloons as quickly as they could.