Open Forum

View Only

Advice on Becoming a Theatre Teacher

• 1.  Advice on Becoming a Theatre Teacher

Posted 02-23-2023 12:29

I've never used the EdTA forums before so I apologize if this is formatted incorrectly or in the wrong place but this is honestly my last outlet for advice. As a rising junior in high school, I've had to start considering what I want to pursue post-high school. I've been heavily considering going into theatre education but I keep hitting a troublesome roadblock; there are no undergraduate programs for theatre education nearby me. I'm from north Georgia, and the closest theatre education programs to me are 200+ miles away and not within my budget for college. I'm seeking advice from current theatre educators: What did you do? I know that in order to teach theatre, you don't have to have majored in theatre education, only hold a certification to do so. Any advice or suggestions on this would be incredibly valuable.

------------------------------
    Thank you,
    Farah Jones

• 2.  RE: Advice on Becoming a Theatre Teacher

Posted 02-24-2023 05:24

Get a degree in an academic subject  or double major in theatre wherever you can afford. Do as many shows as you can. That makes you more marketable. Take appropriate state tests rather than an education degree. You can always get licensed to teach then pursue a masters. I have an undergraduate degree in drama and a master's in literature. Every school I had an interview with wanted the drama but often didn't have a full time position for that. A well rounded theatre tech degree would also make you very desirable in high school theatres.

• 3.  RE: Advice on Becoming a Theatre Teacher

Posted 02-24-2023 08:20

Based on that discussion, it looks like becoming a secondary English teacher with a theatre minor is the way to go.

If that's not economically possible, become a secondary English teacher and take theatre classes after you've been teaching, perhaps in the summer or online.