Open Forum

View Only
  • 1.  induction ceremonies

Posted 04-14-2017 18:47
    This is my first year running my high school thespian troupe.  It appears that the last three-four directors did not hold induction ceremonies; as of now I have 2 members....  So I need to bring in a lot of students who I have reviewed and believe have earned the minimum points required to earn induction; I'm very proud of this! My questions are:1. does the induction fee mentioned on this site provide anything (certificate, pin, etc.) in addition to the membership and the magazine? ; and 2., do troupes charge their members an additional fee, besides club dues, to pay for these induction costs? If I have thirty to catch up with,I'm looking at $750.00... where do troupes get the money to pay for this?

------------------------------
    James Washington
    New Port Richey FL

• 2.  RE: induction ceremonies

Posted 04-15-2017 07:16
    You will be provided a certificate and pin from ITS. The cost is $28 for the one time induction fee. I usually have enough in my drama club account to pay for part of it and try not to have my students have to pay more than $10 (we are a very high percentage of free/reduced lunch). I also have a fundraiser and each student can raise however much or little they want and the profits from what they sold go into their own "drama account" so they can use it to help them pay for field trips, t-shirts, and thespian induction fees. My group is rather small though and if you don't have the funds to pay for part of it you can always ask students to pay their own fees. My experience is that students often won't become inducted because they don't have the money or don't want to pay $28 in order to be called a "thespian".

Rachel Cunningham
    Elwood IN

• 3.  RE: induction ceremonies

Posted 04-15-2017 08:39