Open Forum

View Only
  • 1.  Vista 3 Lighting Control?

Posted 06-27-2020 10:39
    Good morning,
      Our auditorium is undergoing a refresh - which is exciting - however, the plan for our new lighting control is apparently a computer running "Vista 3" by Chroma-Q and a couple of Vista control wings.  I have never used Vista before, but my research seems to show that it was not originally designed to use a traditional syntax or cue structure.  One review stated that, in ~15 years on the market, "it's never come to dominate a section of the market like some other consoles, though it has a devoted band of users including a strong following in the house of worship market."  Apparently, the new incarnation of the program (after Choma-Q bought it from Jands) does have a Command Line (although even the programming wing doesn't have a keypad?).  Also, the timeline approach has now been revised to include cues. 

The advantage of Vista seems to be the "intuitive tools for editing how things happen through time" and Chroma-Q seems to have also realized the value of a more traditional cue structure (especially when working on live shows) and the option to type commands.  The review ultimately suggest that it might now be a "solution that's a bit less radical but perhaps a bit more welcoming to new users."

I have 2 questions for the community:

1) Have any other High Schools used this software?  If so, to what effect?

2) For anyone in the College or Professional world, is this going to be a useful format for our kids to learn on? Or, are they going to be at a disadvantage not learning to program on a more traditional console?

Thanks for any advice,
    ~Guy

------------------------------
    Guy Barbato
    Theatre Teacher/Director
    Leonardtown MD

• 2.  RE: Vista 3 Lighting Control?

Posted 06-28-2020 08:37
    Good morning Guy,