Open Forum

View Only
  • 1.  Projector question

Posted 10-16-2017 14:02
    We are looking at adding a cyc and projector to our theater for backgrounds this year.  I know where I am getting the cyc but need recommendations on a good ultra short throw projector or where to rent a good one (we have a tiny budget and a tiny stage).  Any tips or advice on what to use and what not to use?  I am new to this type of tech and would love any advice or success/horror stories you want to share!

--
    Lisa Singleterry
    Portland Christian Schools
    Elementary Music & Band Teacher
    High School Drama Director
    Masters of Arts in Teaching

• 2.  RE: Projector question

Posted 10-17-2017 06:16
    I recommend contacting an AV Company in your area, they will most likely have rental equipment or can budget for you to purchase new

------------------------------
    Jerry Onik
    V.P. Theatrical Supplies and Equipment
    Omaha NE

• 3.  RE: Projector question

Posted 10-17-2017 07:04
    Hi. I have started using projectors a lot and it's hard. You have to worry about the image being projected on the performers and then making sure once you add stage lights it doesn't wash out your projections. I have been able to get away with normal projectors we pulled from old classrooms with a lot of lighting tweaking, projecting from as steep an angle as I can and knowing I will project some on people.  The other problem is at least what I have seen, renting is crazy expensive to get anything decent. You could try craigslist and buying one but I have looked at rentals for our space and it's 4-5 grand for the cheapest option I have just gotten pretty good at using what I got. We just bought two of craigslist for our show that came out of a theater before they went digital so they are old but powerful

Dan Mellitz
    Technical Director
    St Andrews School
    Barrington, RI

• 4.  RE: Projector question

Posted 10-17-2017 08:43
    Hi Lisa,