Open Forum

View Only
  • 1.  Elementary Theatre Day Camp

Posted 05-06-2019 13:01
    My school offers a week long camp each summer and I am teaching a theatre track. It is one hour long each day for 5 days. 
    I'm just beginning to brainstorm how to do this effectively & successfully. Basically a five hour theatre "camp" for K-2nd and another one for 3rd - 5th. 
    Whew! Can anyone help jumpstart my creativity?
    Thank you!!

------------------------------
    Stephanie Porterfield
    Mill Creek Mainstage
    Mill Creek Elementary School
    Nolensville TN

• 2.  RE: Elementary Theatre Day Camp

Posted 05-06-2019 14:08

We have a longer format program, but certain thing might adapt well to your circumstance. For the younger crowd we focus on theatre "games" that help with creating a character or telling a story, and working in smaller groups within the larger group. The games can even used themes to help like pirates and princesses or superheros... even better if you camp has a theme you can tie into.

Good luck! It is great to be able to offer younger ones an age appropriate introduction to theatre. 

~Dave

David Simpson
    Performing Arts Center Manager
    East China Schools
    East China MI

• 3.  RE: Elementary Theatre Day Camp

Posted 05-07-2019 05:26

For the K-2:  

*Read a story and have the kiddos act it out. You can do this scene by scene, by having small groups pick their favorite scene and dramatize it, or by staging the entire story.  Poetry works well for this, too.

* Station-work.  Bring in items to fill three areas: Props, costumes, and puppets. Rotate so each child has a turn in each station.

*Tongue-twisters.  For warm-ups, in addition to doing something physical, have some fun with tongue-twisters.  The kiddos are really working on the formation of sounds and they have a lot of fun with this.  By the end of the week, have them make up (and try out) tongue twisters for each other