Open Forum

View Only
  • 1.  Wireless Headsets

Posted 08-16-2019 11:18
    I am trying to put a package of microphones together for our productions.  Can anyone give me some feedback on which headsets would be best to use, that won't give me a lot of "feedback".  I am looking to use 16 mics and using Audio Technica systems.  So what works best, Countryman, Audio-technica, Acacia, BodyMic (Drury lane)?  Thanks.

------------------------------
    Andrew Fisher
    Canon City CO

• 2.  RE: Wireless Headsets

Posted 08-16-2019 14:01
    In my experience, it's not the mic, it's how it's placed and the settings on the board and the pack. Very cheap mics have worked just as well as $200 Countryman mics for me. However, I'm not an expert. I think the owner of BodyMics is on this board - he and others will have better and more detailed advice than me.

Ken Buswell
    Drama Teacher
    Peachtree City, GA
    http://mcintoshtheater.org/

Theater kills ignorance

• 3.  RE: Wireless Headsets

Posted 08-17-2019 10:07
    Short explanation:
    • any mic with a reasonably smooth frequency response will do about the same job - it is more about the room-speaker combination than the mic-transmitter set
    • then it comes down to features like comfort, fit, adjustability, weight, size, ease of fitting
    • single ear mics look better for the most part but are a bit trickier to fit so they stay in place
      • we aim to shape the boom by careful easing it shape to run along the check with the capsule resting on the skin
      • the ear-hook needs to be shaped (or use our silicon snail or dpa's snail or VT snail ear-hook) so that it doesn't wobble - push out against the ear-lobe and in against the temple
      • tape the cable to the neck below the point of exit from the mic boom and then either clip to a collar in the centre of the neck with a clip or tape to the center of the neck or clip into the hair at the nape of the neck

Long answer: