Open Forum

View Only

Casting my own daughter

• 1.  Casting my own daughter

Posted 01-27-2017 23:17
    Two years ago, as a freshman, my daughter joined my program. I created an audition panel so everything would be fair and included a member of administration on the panel.  He cast my daughter as Frenchy in our production of Grease.  Later that year, she won Critics Choice at both the district and state thespian festivals in monologues and straight superiors in Ensemble Acting at both.
    Last year with the audition panel still in place (minus an administration representative), she was cast in both Godspell and as one of the mad women in The Madwoman of Chaillot and went on to earn straight superiors at both district and state for monologues and two superiors and an excellent in Duet Acting at both festivals.
    This fall, she was cast (again by an administrator) in the role of Woman in Chair in The Drowsy Chaperone and earned Critics Choice in monologues at the district thespian festival.
    Now, she has been cast by the audition panel in the lead role in the spring play.  However, administration said people have complained about her constantly getting great roles.
    It was never a problem before when other students consistently earned lead roles and yet none of them were as successful in thespian competition as she.  Shouldn't her accomplishments, as well as her performances, be enough to quiet the disconnect?
    Can anyone give me advice?  

Thank you.

------------------------------
    Jerry Seeger
    Director Of Drama
    Plantation FL

• 2.  RE: Casting my own daughter

Posted 01-28-2017 06:14
    Both my daughters came through my program, and I can tell you that there's no way to completely quiet the discontent.  When things don't go people's way, they look for something to blame.