Open Forum

View Only
  • 1.  Negotiating Racial Stereotypes

Posted 04-20-2018 11:18
    Hello! I am an undergrad majoring in Theatre Education at Ball State University, and I am curious about something. In one of my classes, we discussed the use of racial stereotypes and cultural appropriation in theatre, not that anyone would do these things voluntarily but because they are written into plays. So, I am curious how theatre educators can go about avoiding racial stereotypes or cultural appropriation and still do shows like Thoroughly Modern Millie (actress in yellow face) or Annie Get Your Gun (appropriation of Native American culture)? I would appreciate any insight on this matter.

------------------------------
    Cassandra Buescher
    Muncie, IN

• 2.  RE: Negotiating Racial Stereotypes

Posted 04-21-2018 07:54
    Tact is everything. The goal for performers is to meet your audience where they are and show them some new perspective. By that very nature, the arts will always offend someone. Whether that offense has a name or not is meaningless. In my humble opinion, the arts should open our eyes, ears, and hearts while thickening our skin.

Now, like you said, intent is important: you wouldn't stage The Producers because you want to pay tribute to the Third Reich, and you wouldn't show West Side Story to pit native-born citizens versus immigrants. Both of these shows have valuable lessons for us to learn decades after their creation even though both use race as a mechanism to teach it.

I would apply these challenges to any script I consider for school use: Is this good theatre? Is this age appropriate for my group? What controversial material is embedded in the script? Is this material critical to the storyline of the show? How does the plot resolve the controversy?

I hope this helps!

Robert Lussier
    Drama Club Advisor
    Hanover Area School District
    Hanover Twp. PA

• 3.  RE: Negotiating Racial Stereotypes

Posted 04-21-2018 13:39