Open Forum

View Only
  • 1.  Scene Shop Safety

Posted 08-10-2017 00:43
    I am a first year drama teacher, and this is my first discussion post for ETA! I am teaching three large Stage Craft classes. Our theater has a small shop containing a table saw, drill press, grinder, and various other power tools. How do you teach shop safety in your theater classes? Are there standardized rules, and procedures for working with power tools? How do you assess your students ability to understand the risks of working in the scene shop? What rules do you have in place to keep your students safe? As a brand new teacher (VERY new to the world of tech) I would appreciate any lesson plans, resources, or ideas!

------------------------------
    Natalie Cannon
    Theater Teacher
    Albuquerque NM

• 2.  RE: Scene Shop Safety

Posted 08-11-2017 07:25
    My first question would be how much experience do you have working in a scene shop? If you do not have have experience with tools do not try to teach your students how to use them without first knowing how yourself. Do you have a friend who can show you? Is there a nice shop teacher at your school?