Open Forum

View Only
  • 1.  Conflict Resolution for Student Stage Managers

Posted 11-30-2018 09:25

Hello SchoolTheatre Open Forum!

I've been teaching a workshop at some of the state conferences and the ITF over the past year called "Stage Management for the Actor." In it, I share what I learned about stage management from my time graduating with a BFA in Acting and transitioning into a director/stage manager. The response has been great overall but one question I get and I would love teacher input on this is regarding conflict resolution.

As I was a stage manager for a professional theatre, there was already established respect for my position and the work I needed to do. A lot of students ask what to do when their peers do not respect them as stage manager or attempt to undercut their authority. At this time in my workshop, I open it up to discussion with more established student stage managers in the room and they give very helpful answers. 

My recommendation to the students is to approach the people in question one-on-one and be as empathetic as possible. I also recommend that any recurring problems they should put in the rehearsal report so that they can have a written record of events. Finally, I say that they should ask their teacher/director to help with conflict resolution if all else fails. But I wanted to see what recommendations that you all have.

Thank you!

------------------------------
    Nate Netzley
    Teaching Artist
    New York NY

• 2.  RE: Conflict Resolution for Student Stage Managers

Posted 11-30-2018 09:51
    I see this all the time in areas outside of theatre, and it boils down to making assumptions due to lack of information, or to different expectations due to lack of direction.