Open Forum

View Only
  • 1.  Ladders and Lifts

Posted 03-17-2018 18:25
    Hello All,
    I wanted to share with you that I just received my Colorado CTE Teaching Certificate (CTE Performing Arts 7-12)!  Woo hoo!  Not that I intend to use it as a tech theatre teacher per se (although I'm also a certified theatre teacher as well), but since I work with high school students all the time in my position as a freelance lighting designer and high school theatre operations coach, I thought it would be good to document (to admin in particular) that I have the credentials that allow me to educate and supervise students in hazardous situations such as we find in the theatre.   

I'm sharing this because it got me to thinking.... that more specifically what I want to supervise students doing is to use ladders and lifts(!). And that seems to be one of the major things that many districts and/or schools won't allow students to do, despite the fact that they allow all other CTE students (woodshop, culinary, welding, automotive, and so on) to perform hazardous tasks - admin seem to have a mental block about tech theatre students actually being able to learn their craft.  Does the woodshop teacher saw all the bits of wood for the students, does the culinary teacher chop up all the meat with sharp knives and put it in the hot oven for the students?  I think not!