Open Forum

View Only
  • 1.  Rehearsal schedule conflicts with religious education class

Posted 09-05-2018 22:41
    Hello Colleagues,
         I've been teaching and directing high school theater for 20+ years and I wonder how you handle rehearsal conflicts with religious ed classes. We rehearse on a Monday and Wednesday evening and Thursday after school.
    Each year, some 9th and 10th graders inevitably have an ongoing conflict with an evening rehearsal/religious ed class in preparation for Confirmation.  Especially with a musical, at least two rehearsals per week are required to pull off a production.  What do you do?  I try to work around this but it's difficult and do you think it is wrong to factor this into the casting decisions?  It's a slippery slope and one that parents challenge.  
         I appreciate your insights.

------------------------------
    [Nancy][Vitulli]
    [Theater Teacher/Drama Director]
    [CHSW]
    [Cranston] [RI]

• 2.  RE: Rehearsal schedule conflicts with religious education class

Posted 09-06-2018 07:17
    if This is a large number of your departmental population, it might be much easier for you to adjust your schedule. You could move the Wednesday rehearsals to Tuesday. Or you could structure your rehearsal so that Wednesday's are for small group work and work around the kids that can't be there. 
    Pin every district I've worked in, it's been an unwritten (and sometimes written) that everything school related ends by 5:15 on Wednesdays. That's the dedicated "church night" for the churches in our community and it works well for everyone because we all know in advance.

Erin Moore
    Director of Theatre
    Sealy TX

• 3.  RE: Rehearsal schedule conflicts with religious education class

Posted 09-07-2018 10:47