Open Forum

View Only
  • 1.  Lightning Effects Equipment

Posted 02-04-2019 18:59
    I'm looking to shoot realistic lightning behind the set (through the window).  I've never worked with this effect before, so am needing to find and use the necessary equipment.

1. Is this equipment something you typically buy and keep or just rent from a local supply house.

I'm assuming renting is the way to go, but if it's something schools around me may have on hand, then I'll reach out to them first.  Always looking to save a buck.

2.  If you have experience with this equipment/effect and want to share tips with me I'd gladly take it.  

Thank you so much!

------------------------------
    Brett Buffum
    Theatre Teacher
    Spring Hill KS

• 2.  RE: Lightning Effects Equipment

Posted 02-05-2019 07:16
    It really depends on the ultimate effect you want and the lighting levels on stage in front of the window.  Most of the time however, this can be achieved with a mini fresnel, fresnel, or ellipsoidal-- just depends on if you want a hard edged shadow or a soft one and on the amount of bleed you will get through the flat, as an elips can be shuttered off.  If the window does not have mullions, or if you want to create those out of thin air on the floor a gobo is the way to go and then you will need an ellipsoidal to work that magic.... just make sure you get the right size for your instrument.  Depending on the scenery as well, it might be necessary to hang the instrument directly on an upstage flat or rig up a tree or batten for the special if you can't get the right angle from existing hang positions.

Hope all that helps

Michael Johnson
    Trinity NC

• 3.  RE: Lightning Effects Equipment

Posted 02-05-2019 07:25