Open Forum

View Only
  • 1.  Hawkins Award Essay Submission

Posted 03-19-2017 14:13
    Hello all,

My name is Troy Taylor and I am the current Chapter Director for Alabama.  This February, I will complete my second festival as Chapter Director.  This organization has meant so much to me personally since I was a scrawny teenage boy living out in the country.  I have worked very hard to give back to my state and its students.  In regards to attending Arts Advocacy Day and its possible benefits. 

I start with the fact that the arts in Alabama doesn’t have a strong support system.  Almost 70% of the state doesn’t receive arts education of any kind.  That is appalling to me and something I am working hard to fight.  I am a teacher first though, with that comes responsibilities to my underfunded program.  Opportunities for professional development can be scarce almost all the time and the only reason I have been able to help Alabama is because of the Educational Theatre Association.

There aren’t many people in this state who would put the time, energy and effort into helping this state fight the good fight.  The biggest example of this would be the fact that I am the Chapter Director at only 28 years old.  My experience in teaching the arts and advocating for the arts is minimal.  I’ve only been at this for five years, meaning I have a long road ahead of me.  I want to be equipped with more experiences and knowledge so that I can bring it back home.  I love what I get to do more than anything else in the world and I love to serve people.