Open Forum

View Only

Working with a Co-Director

• 1.  Working with a Co-Director

Posted 10-15-2020 13:27
    Hello, 

I stepped into our drama teacher/director role for my school after the long-time director retired last spring.  I have a theatre degree and directing background, and have directed shows for previous school districts.   The previous director had co-directed the fall play for many years with another teacher in another building who has an interest, but no actual training, in theatre.  We maintained the co-directing partnership this year, but it isn't going as well.  

Those of you who have co-directed in the past, how do you deal with major philosophical differences?  Our directorial styles are like water and oil.  

For example, we agreed to split the scenes for blocking.  When my co-director blocked her scenes, I could see some major points where the characters were going to be upstaged.  I mentioned it after rehearsal - not in front of the students - and my co-director brushed it off.  When I was blocking my scenes, I got three sentences out before my co-director interrupted me, said they didn't like what I was doing, told the students to ignore my directions, and start reblocking everything.  I asked my co-director after rehearsal if I misunderstood which scenes I was supposed to block, but they, again, brushed it off as a "collaboration."

Masks and socially distant blocking are a HUGE issue.  My co-director doesn't want the actors to wear masks when rehearsing (required by district).  They also can't understand why I object to blocking that places actors in each other's faces and physically on top of each other.  

I honestly don't know what to do from here.  We seem to be at an impasse, and I don't know how to move around it.  Help!

------------------------------
    Wendy Arch
    Drama Teacher
    Indianola, IA

• 2.  RE: Working with a Co-Director

Posted 10-15-2020 14:46