Open Forum

View Only
  • 1.  She Loves Me

Posted 05-16-2018 04:16
    Has anyone done this charming show and if so, how large of a cast did you go with? Also, can any of the roles be flipped for gender (Arpad or Ladislav, for instance)? These roles could be from the storytelling side, I think, but maybe not without a lot of rewrites of the singing parts. 

Next year is my first year directing following the departure of our great music director and (separate person) choreographer. We also have a shift in our student population from a large group of really talented upperclassmen to a smaller set of those and a lot of eager but less capable underclassmen. I know many of you who have been doing this a long time are familiar with these ebbs and flows, but this is my first time. For the past 6 years, we've had a well-developed and quite strong stable of talented kids, plus great adults to steer the various ships, so that we could do big shows well. Now, I'm just not sure who will be coming along on the staff side (international school hirings are challenging – not as many people up for an adventure overseas, I guess), so I need to decide: big easier show or smaller ensemble show? 

In the small show camp, I love She Loves Me and would really enjoy directing it, and I think my kids could pull it off, but would like to expand it a bit at least. Or go with something else. After this big year – just wrapped a great production of In the Heights – the kids are sensing that next year might be not so good. It is my job to keep them optimistic and do a show they will love, the audience will love, but something not quite as demanding in all areas – staging, singing, dancing, set – than this year.

------------------------------
    Steven Slaughter
    English/Theatre
    Rosslyn Academy
    Nairobi, Kenya

"Be joyful, though you have considered all the facts." - W Berry

• 2.  RE: She Loves Me

Posted 05-17-2018 14:26