Open Forum

View Only
  • 1.  Thespian Advisor involvement

Posted 11-09-2018 01:07
    Hey all,

I am new to working a thespian club, and I am wondering how involved the faculty advisors tend to get.  The last advisor was extremely hands off, and I am wondering if that's the norm?  Thanks and any feedback about what you do with your group would be awesome.

------------------------------
    Adam Herzig
    Shanghai

• 2.  RE: Thespian Advisor involvement

Posted 11-11-2018 11:03

Hi Adam, 
    Off the top of my head I have a bunch of questions.  

Is this a "Club" in your school?  Is it a drama club with the Thespian Troupe being part of the club?  That's the why it's set up in our school.  We don't have any theater as part of the curriculum.  So the school pays for an advisor.  That's their only investment in the program.  

So the next question would be, is there money available to pay creative directors, technical directors, music directors, choreographers and any other people necessary to put on a show or do the students assume all of those responsibilities?  

In our case, I am the advisor but I'm also the technical director and I handle most of the duties under the tech side such as sound, lights, set design and anything else needed.  (I know someone will chime in regarding all of those being totally different things and shouldn't be handled by one person but I do what has to be done)

We have a creative director who right now is given a stipend and thankfully she stays on.  

I won't get into much more detail unless you have specific questions but I think what I'm trying to say is this: