Open Forum

View Only
  • 1.  Starting Middle School Theater Club in an Urban School

Posted 09-25-2018 22:15
    Hello, I am a Middle School Science teacher with a background in theater and I'm looking to start an after school theater program for students that show an interest.  I have already got administrative support and the goal of this club will be to showcase some theater talents during the choir/band concerts, but I need some help.

My current vision is to teach some students some baseline theater skills and practice.  I would love to have these kids put on some 10 minute plays, improv skits, and the like.  Eventually down the line (2-3 years at the least) I would love to put on full scale plays, but I understand we need to establish our program at our school.

Where do I start? 
    What plans should I have to make this club work?
    Are there any middle school competitions similar to high school speech?
    What are some things I should expect?

I would love any help that can given out.

------------------------------
    Ryan Black
    Waterloo IA

• 2.  RE: Starting Middle School Theater Club in an Urban School

Posted 09-26-2018 12:00
    Hey Ryan--

I have started a theatre program at three different urban schools now (two middle schools and a high school), and my favorite way to get things started is just to jump right in with a show! Music Theatre International makes very easy-to-use "Showkits" for their Kids and Jr. shows. It gets the community invested right away and has a nice final product to show off! Please reach out to me if you want any more advice; I'm happy to help: caity.schneeman@kippdc.org.

Caity Schneeman
    Theatre Arts Teacher
    KIPP DC
    Washington DC

• 3.  RE: Starting Middle School Theater Club in an Urban School

Posted 09-26-2018 12:01
    also, about competitions -- yes, there is a competition for middle school theatre called the iTheatrics Junior Theatre Festival! I've never been but it looks cool.

Caity Schneeman