Open Forum

View Only

Ticket sales? Where do they go?

• 1.  Ticket sales? Where do they go?

Posted 01-20-2017 10:59
    At our school, I am lucky enough to have a VERY active Parent Booster organization that covers all of our arts programs, here and at our middle school. They have been extremely helpful- overly so. This is my first year here and the school's first year with a full-time drama teacher. Ergo, when I got here there were no plays other than the ones "reserved" for the English department. The Boosters didn't bat an eyelash and dropped a few grand on curriculum for me. They also covered two field trips to local plays for ALL of my students including transportation. They pay for the sets, the costumes, the props, the programs, the publicity, etc. etc. etc. for our plays. ALL the school has to pay for is the rights and the scripts.

Here's where it gets sticky. I literally have a 300 dollar budget per year for drama. There isn't a fund set aside for the rights to shows. Yes, somehow, the school managed to come up with the 3 grand I needed for the rights to my fall play and my spring musical...and I didn't ask questions. I assumed I would get to pay them back from the ticket sales. I was wrong. The Boosters tell me that they keep all of the money from the ticket sales and they always have. I'm told that they "almost never" make a profit and their goal is to "break even." Here's the thing: I'm also told that my fall play ticket sales were nearly triple what they've sold in the past and I can only imagine what the musical is going to do.

My department chair tells me this is not legal. My gut is that it's just not fair. I'm in the first year of building an empire, and I know I have to work with this group- I WANT to work with this group- but I feel like things just aren't adding up. 

Any thoughts on this? Anyone have a similar situation?

• 2.  RE: Ticket sales? Where do they go?

Posted 01-21-2017 11:32