Open Forum

View Only
  • 1.  wireless mics - government requirement to leave 600 MHz band

Posted 07-21-2018 18:06
    Hi,

I'm a journalist, and I'm writing an article about the effect the 600 MHz auction is having on users of wireless audio equipment. As most of you likely are aware, wireless audio gear that currently operates in the 600 MHz band – which likely is all or most of your microphones, and back of house walkie talkies – will be illegal, and likely nonfunctional by 2020 (or earlier!, depending on your location). For most theater programs the cost for new gear (at $500 to $1000 per mic) that operates outside the 600 MHz band will run into the tens of thousands of dollars.

I'm interested in hearing from program or tech directors of school theaters about the particular hardship you expect to incur from the need to purchase the new equipment. E.g. will allocating money for new mics mean that other critical parts of your programs – costumes, props, etc. – may not be able to be upgraded? Will you be forced to make cutbacks on the quality of shows, using fewer mics than is necessary, if you can't afford (all) the new gear in time? Will you need to dip into a reserve fund or do a special fundraiser? Etc.  

I know many school programs operate entirely on funds from ticket sales or fundraisers, so the obligation to make such a large expenditure on new gear, I presume, could be highly problematic. Thanks very much! This is an important story, and I am eager to let the public know about it.

NOTE: I've spoken with Jim Palmerini, of the EdTA, about this issue, and he suggested I make this post.

Please contact me at dave@davidzweig.com or 917 822 2670

------------------------------
    David Zweig
    dave@davidzweig.com

• 2.  RE: wireless mics - government requirement to leave 600 MHz band

Posted 07-22-2018 10:00
    Hi David,