Open Forum

View Only

Samuel French Costs

• 1.  Samuel French Costs

Posted 09-06-2017 14:18
    Hello all,

I am going through Samuel French for licensing my fall play this year and was a little shocked when I went to finalize licensing and noticed the price. It is basically twice what I am used to paying. Is this the experience of everyone else? Is there a reason their pricing is so high? I am still a newbie of sorts and learning the ropes all around. I am going to have to adjust my budget next year or not order from them if this is typical.

Thanks in advance for your feedback!

------------------------------
    Sarah Aanderud Wahlen
    Director of Theatre & Film
    Holy Names Academy
    Seattle, WA

• 2.  RE: Samuel French Costs

Posted 09-06-2017 15:19
    The costs for the licensing really depend on both the type of show (musical, straight, one act ,etc), the number of shows and the title recognition. There are other considerations that the companies ask for (auditorium size, ticket pricing, etc) as well. 
    I've used several different companies and, although Sam French is expensive, I haven't noticed it being overly so. They do have a large library of options that some of the smaller companies do not offer, so that may have something to do with the costs as well.

Shira Schwartz
    Chandler Unified School District
    Chandler AZ

• 3.  RE: Samuel French Costs

Posted 09-06-2017 15:50

Our fees are set per our contracts with our authors, so they can receive payment for their art. These fees are determined using your ticket prices, venue size, number of performances, and other title-specific factors. However, we understand that you may not fill your venue to the maximum seating capacity. We're always happy to work with teachers and teaching artists to see if they qualify for a lower rate. Please feel free to send an email to K12@samuelfrench.com with the specifics about your situation and your license request number.

Rosemary Bucher