Open Forum

View Only
  • 1.  Awarding Points for Festivals and more

Posted 03-21-2019 19:02
    Hello, 
    I am very new to this and trying to induct my first group.  I've already signed up 6 but I have about 6 more to do.  I'm trying to get their points right, since I'm going back 4 years for some of them as we only joined back up this year. So, my question is, Do you give points to ALL STUDENTS who are in the regional one act festivals?  Do you give all participants 3 whole points or do you give some who worked less just 1 or 2 points?  I want the induction to be an honor and I have a few who are lingering around 10 points, but truly do not deserve the honor yet.  I'm looking back at how I have awarded points and seeing if I'm giving too many.  I just found out a nearby director only gives a max of 8 points per show for one "role" in each production.  My school currently only puts on two shows per year and our troupe (and group) are small. The students often take on multiple roles, some act and do crew or act and do make up for half the cast.  What do others do in this situation?  

Also, Who do I give cords, stoles and other graduations things to?  I have two seniors that I will be leaving us this year and I'd like to make sure I do it right for them.  One of them has over 60 points, the other almost 40.  I believe they are both high honor students also.  When do I check their gpa?  So so so many questions.  Thank you for anything that you give. I am perusing the boards also.  

------------------------------
    Catherine Leavitt
    VPA Department Head, Art & Theatre Teacher
    Waterboro ME

• 2.  RE: Awarding Points for Festivals and more

Posted 03-22-2019 07:33
    Catherine,
    Please give me a call - 817-991-3928 and let's chat! I can tell you what we do - other troupes may do it differently.
    Text first!

~Darla

• 3.  RE: Awarding Points for Festivals and more

Posted 03-24-2019 17:30
      |   view attached
    Hi,