Open Forum

View Only
  • 1.  Creating your own work

Posted 08-12-2019 15:08
    I'm looking for some suggestions, resources, ideas, any information you are willing to share about creating your own script. I've been reading Alice In Wonderland scripts for weeks and haven't found one I'm crazy about. Someone suggested I adapt my own. I'm thinking this is the route I may want to take, but I'm a bit nervous because I've never done something like this before. My idea is create the script with the cast, but I really don't know where to start. Can anyone offer some advice? Thanks!

------------------------------
    Kristi Jacobs-Stanley
    Louisiana Co-Chapter Director

• 2.  RE: Creating your own work

Posted 08-13-2019 08:44
    I'v adapted a couple of books, under permission from the author and publisher, and my approach was to read the book several times; come up with an outline or scenes and chapters; and then-- work with a cast in rehearsal to a) read over the chapter to be adapted b) improvise scenes using the text for key dialogue and then c) type scenes up at home with the help of an assistant writer who also participated in the rehearsal and treatment process.  Then, the next day we would read over the adaptation and get suggestions from the cast.  It is a very fun process.  I've also adapted works on my own, like A Christmas Carol and then presented those pages to a cast for read through-s and I must say I prefer the collaborative process.  In the first process, my students chose characters to focus on and also completed research to time period and the text on their own-- I think they brought a deeper understanding to the work-- more so than I could have done on my own.

Michael Johnson
    Trinity NC

• 3.  RE: Creating your own work

Posted 08-14-2019 09:10