Open Forum

View Only
  • 1.  Stage floor

Posted 03-13-2018 11:09
    This is my first year at this school but I have been a Director of Theatre for 33 years so this is not my first rodeo.  When I was hired I was told that the stage floor was going to be replaced over the summer.  When I arrived, the floor had bubbling material that could pose a real liability to anyone who used it.  However, once the year started, the floor was never touched.  I directed two shows on it and tripped and caught set pieces on it.  My first thought was to put masonite on the whole floor and be done with it - however, I am not a technical person and there is not a tech director on staff to help me decide how to move forward.  Any suggestions?  The floor seems to have a good wood base but of course I can only see the parts that have bubbled or ripped through. 

Does anyone know who I could consult or do the work?  

d

--
    David Valdes
    Director of Theatre

UNIVERSITY LAKE SCHOOL
    4024 Nagawicka Road
    PO Box 290, Hartland, WI  53029
    ph: 262.367.6011 x1322   fax: 262.367.3146

• 2.  RE: Stage floor

Posted 03-14-2018 06:14
    It sounds to me that that a Masonite covering was used and was not properly applied, I recommend you have the administration contact the installer, the question is was the proper material used? Was it properly sealed prior to installation? Was it properly spaced for expansion?
    I have seen this before due to all of these conditions, and I strongly recommend having the company back out who installed it to provide solutions.

------------------------------
    Jerry Onik
    V.P. Theatrical Supplies and Equipment
    Omaha NE

• 3.  RE: Stage floor

Posted 03-29-2018 12:56
    SO I am all prepared to use masonite on our floor and then the technical director from another theatre suggested we use Luan over masonite.......thoughts?

d

[David] [Valdes]
    [Director of Theatre/Arts Administrative Asst.]
    [Miami Country Day School ]