Open Forum

View Only

Moving LARGE wagons and sets

• 1.  Moving LARGE wagons and sets

Posted 03-07-2017 12:14
      |   view attached
    So I'm in a bit of a pickle. I'm pretty new to teaching tech (my second year), and frankly have very little experience as a Drama teacher and actor. I'm doing my best, but I've created a problem for myself...

For our musical Kiss Me Kate we've built a 20x8 interior dressing dressing room for the leads that turns around to show the exterior hallway for other scenes. Now of course because hindsight is 20-20, I realize this really should have been made into two separate wagons that fit together. But the wagon is dutched, painted, has had base and crown molding installed - it's done, and we don't have enough time before tech week to completely start over. 

So my issue is now that this thing is HEAVY and HUGE and very difficult to move even on swivel casters. It wants to drift and fight the students when it's time to move it from the wings onto its mark center stage, and is making swift scene changes nigh impossible. I hate making the audience wait a minute+ for a darn scene change. I'm trying to play a few scenes/songs on the apron with the grand drape closed to allow for more scene change time behind the curtain, but there's quite a few places where I just can't and only have about 30-60 seconds to move this beast.

The walls are also free standing with only so much jack support (the chairs on the far corners are bolted to the walls to provide support), so I'm also concerned that with all the moving back and forth and turning around that the walls may start to come loose, even though I'm asking the students to push and pull from the wagon base.

What do I do?!

Is there any way to move and control this thing more easily or am I stuck with long scene changes and the orchestra vamping forever?

------------------------------
    Rachel Snow
    Drama and Technical Theater Teacher
    Alhambra High School
    Alhambra CA