Open Forum

View Only
  • 1.  Classroom Management in Middle School

Posted 01-02-2015 06:47
    Hello Everyone,

I posted early in the school year.  I'm a first year theater teacher with a Professional Educational Theater Credential, which I achieved because I have my MA in Acting.

I'm now writing because I have some classroom management questions which I thought I might post here to get a few points of few from teachers here.  I know we are all from different states, but I always like what i'm read on this list.  

At one of my schools, which is where I have the majority of my classes has large groups of 25 and 30.  So far i've established scenes that we are working with and we have tests in the next week or so.  In the middle of the semester there were students who from the beginning have refused to do drama.  

At parent / teacher conferences a few months ago one of the parents suggested that for students who do not do acting that I give them activities that have to do with technical theater.  Also, a teacher who I was advised to consult with suggested the same thing.  I have assigned some sketch assignments that have to do with the script that we are working with - even through I have NO experience in technical theater - but I do have my undergrad in Theater and we were required to do some course work so - the truth is I have been able to create some very basic assignments and some students have been able to be productive and create some nice practical work and now I am able to make a test based on NYC Blueprint Standards alongside acting scenes in order to accommodate students who are more focused in these areas.

All classrooms are different.  I just feel a little strange teaching two disciplines in one class, but if that's what i've been encouraged to do.

What I want is to encourage all students to participate in the same lesson.  That said, i've read that a good lesson is one with multiple points of entry.