Open Forum

Β View Only

Ticket prices

• 1.  Ticket prices

Posted 10-04-2014 13:09
    Hello. I am a second year drama teacher. I would like to know how much other schools charge for a play and a musical. Specifically, do you charge faculty and staff? If so, what is the price compared to the other tickets? Thanks, ------------------------------------------- Desiree Hill Theatre Teacher Montclair High School Montclair CA -------------------------------------------

• 2.  RE: Ticket prices

Posted 10-04-2014 19:08
    I usually charge $5 dollar for my plays and $8 or $10 for the musical.

A lot of what you charge is determined by
    1.  What you have charged in the past   
    2.  What your area's economic situation is  
    3.  What your audience has come to expect in show quality
    4.  Do your ticket sales drive what you can do? (How reliant are you on them?)

I do not charge teachers +1 person for shows.  If they bring more than one guest then I charge.  My seating is more than enough for the size of the audiences we have, I would rather have people in the seats than an empty auditorium and the students like to see the teachers there to support them.  At the same time, our budget is largely determined for ticket sales, so I have to keep that in mind.

In the Las Vegas area we have a wide range of economic situations for schools, I can't charge what some do but at the same time I've found that our prices are reasonable for most of our students.
    -------------------------------------------
    Alan Strait
    Teacher
    CCSD
    Henderson NV

• 3.  RE: Ticket prices

Posted 10-05-2014 09:23
    To avoid tension between other departments (or even other schools), I do the same thing our athletic program does and give free seats to all faculty/staff members (yes, even from other schools in our district). The benefit is that they always bring their families, buy concessions, and help spread the word about our program - the best advertising there is.