Open Forum

View Only
  • 1.  Looking for plays for African American elementary age students to perform

Posted 09-25-2014 21:47
    (This is a request from one of my graduate students.)

I am a first grade teacher and theatre educator.  I am also African American and 90% of my elementary aged students are as well. 

My passion is working with youth in the arts - especially in urban settings and I would love to put on a full scale production with my students at my school.  However, I'd  like to find plays that tells their stories from the African American perspective. I think my kids have exhausted the "Snow White" and "Cinderella" stories and I believe they are ready to showcase their stories. 

Please keep in mind, I'm not talking about the "ghetto," African folklore, or even slave narratives.  I'd like to find  plays with interesting characters that look like them and  talk like them - ones they can relate to.  I am also looking for material that has nothing to do with race. I don't believe that just because the characters are "black" that the story line has  to be about the color of their skin.  There is more to life than racial issues. 

The material must also be suitable for elementary students and their audience.  I've been able to find plays for middle and high school students but not for elementary aged students.

Ok! I know that seems like a tall order but - If anyone has any ideas or  resources  that could help in my endeavors, please let my professor, Dr. Flynn, know via this forum! 

-------------------------------------------
    Rosalind Flynn
    Head of the M.A. in Theatre Education
    The Catholic University of America
    Silver Spring MD

• 2.  RE: Looking for plays for African American elementary age students to perform

Posted 09-26-2014 00:37
    I've had luck adapting favorite children's books or poems into plays/performance pieces. 

I love The Dream Keeper and Other Poems by Langston Hughes.
    Tar Beach is lovely.