Open Forum

View Only
  • 1.  Good scripts for Design exercises

Posted 09-19-2014 02:31
    I'm a bad technical theater teacher sometimes and I rarely teach design in the hurry to build the shows.

I am going to stop that nonsense now.  

Can I have some suggestions on some accessible plays for brand new technical theater students that would be a blast to read and design for (and possibly includes some juicy research possibilities)?

I want to teach these design areas:

Set

Audio

Costume

Make-up

Lighting

Publicity

My college education is coming up lacking!  Short plays are better so we can read them quicker, as are free online plays (if they have cool design possibilities).  The main thing is to have students go through the process of designing for scripts that can be designed in multiple different ways (that way I don't get 35 box sets for Arsenic and Old Lace).  Please say WHAT area of design you suggest this for (so I don't make a fool of myself assigning set design for Our Town when you were suggesting an awesome period costume design).

Thank you brain trust!

-------------------------------------------
    Bryan Ringsted
    San Jose CA

• 2.  RE: Good scripts for Design exercises

Posted 09-19-2014 12:49
    What about an oldie like A Midsummer Night's Dream?
    It's great for design because you've essentially got the three worlds (Athenian Court, Mechanicals, Forest) and each needs to have its own identity, yet the worlds need to relate to each other as well.  Plus there are so many examples of very different productions from the past to use as points of inspiration.

Ryan Moore
    Ferndale MI

• 3.  RE: Good scripts for Design exercises

Posted 09-20-2014 09:19