Open Forum

View Only
  • 1.  Once upon a mattress

Posted 09-13-2014 09:44
    Hi, Has anyone done this show with middle and high school? I'm new to the school and state and am looking into possible show ideas. The school community is conservative. I'm still learning the ropes and meeting the students and families. I'm wondering about the feedback from students, HS, and the pros or cons about your experiences. From what I understand a good cast size here has been about 30 but fewer in years past. I definitely want to build the program. Thanks so much! ------------------------------------------- Colleen McEvoy Theatre Director Tampa FL -------------------------------------------

• 2.  RE: Once upon a mattress

Posted 09-13-2014 17:11
    I have produced and directed Mattress many times with high school and middle school kids - mixed and separately. It's a great show and works well for building your program. If your community is ultra-conservative, Larkin and Harry having to get married (which drives the entire plot because everyone has to get married and can't), could be an issue. You don't need to cut anything, just either play up the comedy (Harry's reaction when Larkin tells him) or play down the comedy and move on.... Either way works. The underlying desperation can simply become the evilness of the Queen not allowing anyone to get married until Dauntless does.

Good Luck

-------------------------------------------
    Ron Wells

• 3.  RE: Once upon a mattress

Posted 09-14-2014 12:28
    I directed Once Upon a Mattress Jr. last year for 6th, 7th, and 8th graders.  Rogers and Hammerstein's Library has the rights to this show and it is called Getting2Know, Once Upon a Mattress.  It does not have the pregnancy in the show or any of the other sexual iinnuendos and works well for a conservative community.  I highly recommend it.
    Debby Shellard

Deborah Shellard
    Drama Teacher
    Attea Middle School
    Glenview IL

• 4.  RE: Once upon a mattress