Open Forum

View Only
  • 1.  assessing student interpretation

Posted 08-06-2014 10:25

Informal poll for my colleagues out there in the community:

What qualities do you associate with strong student interpretation in acting?

What qualities do you associate with strong student interpretation in directing/design? 

Or, put another way, if you were creating an assessment instrument (e.g. a rubric) to explicitly gauge students' abilities to interpret a text and communicate that interpretation to an audience through a performance or product, what elements would you include?

These are questions I've been chewing on for a few years, rooted in my frustration that my middle schoolers regularly view "success" in acting as a dutiful recitation of the words and execution of the blocking rather than a skillful use of words and actions to create meaning (the correlation in their directing/design efforts would be to attend to only the practical needs a of a scene without much regard for the aesthetic power of theatrical elements to express meaning).  My experiences teaching have increasingly convinced me that I need to lead students to an increased understanding of acting/directing/design as largely interpretive and communicative/expressive artforms, and I'm always looking for better ways to tackle this understanding head-on.  

I'm further inspired to put these questions out there by the following essential questions in the new national standards:

How, when, and why do theatre artists' choices change?

How do theatre artists transform and edit their initial ideas?

Why are strong choices essential to interpreting a drama or theatre piece?

The last question, particularly, is one I'm interested in exploring in further depth this year, and welcome your thoughts and/or suggestions of resources.

-------------------------------------------
    Ryan Moore
    Ferndale MI

• 2.  RE: assessing student interpretation

Posted 08-07-2014 10:37
    Ryan,