Open Forum

View Only

Starting from Scratch

• 1.  Starting from Scratch

Posted 06-13-2014 15:09
    My school district in northwest Alabama is initiating a theater program, and I am (hopefully) going to be hired to pilot it and teach a new theater class.  I am a brand new teacher, having worked for the district as a sub and the web-admin, and now I'm building a drama class/club/program from scratch.

I may be coming to the forum with a few questions, but my first is, what are my must-haves for outfitting my classroom?  I will have a classroom space and an adjoining classroom that will be our studio/performance space.  What do I need to buy, request, or dumpster-dive for?

-------------------------------------------
    Josh Kauffman
    Teacher
    Winfield City Schools
    Winfield AL

• 2.  RE: Starting from Scratch

Posted 06-13-2014 22:27
    What fun! (...and a lot of work.) If you're going to have a black box type space, flexible seating is nice to have. You want levels so the audience can see, but you want to be able to move things around. While you can work with just a boombox/ipod and speakers, a sound system is nice. You'll want some sort of lighting system. I don't suppose that is a must to start, but lights sure are nice for making small spaces look different. Of course if you are going to build seating/risers on your own, you need tools. A sewing machine? Scripts! You might want to start by figuring out what kinds of plays you want to produce your first year, then build your requests off of specific needs. I look forward to seeing what other folks say! ------------------------------------------- Amy Sidwell Director of Theatrical Arts Woodburn Arts and Communications Academy Canby OR -------------------------------------------

• 3.  RE: Starting from Scratch

Posted 06-14-2014 08:15