Open Forum

View Only
  • 1.  rehearsals

Posted 05-24-2014 16:57
    Hello,
    I've been directing for 20 years and just this year have a new administrator who happens to be the athletic director also.
    His only observance of the students was during tech week, which we all know is hectic. He believes students should never be standing around - they need to be involved in something at all times. He said when he's coaching, he does drills and they move on from one thing to the next - something new every 15 minutes. I tried to explain to him that they can't all be doing something else if they're waiting to go on stage, listening for cues, etc. He insists I'm wrong.

I don't even run rehearsals where everyone has to be doing something because we're going through the play scene by scene. I have no problem letting kids do homework if they're not in a scene we're working - he insists that's wrong - that they should always be doing something theatre related.

Any thoughts? Any words of wisdom? Am I wrong???

Thank you!!

-------------------------------------------
    Connie Sandoz
    Theatre Director
    Henderson NV

• 2.  RE: rehearsals

Posted 05-25-2014 09:34
    Show your Athletic Director the last scene in Chaplin where everyone comes out to the wings to watch him receive his academy award.  Your students are doing something, they are supporting their peers on stage by being quiet and respectful while work is being done and in this sense they are all one at that moment-- a team.  The bench at a game is doing something while their teammates run and shoot.

Michael Johnson
    Trinity NC

• 3.  RE: rehearsals

Posted 05-26-2014 08:03
    Connie,
    This doesn't sound like someone that is listening to you or knows what you do. The Athletic Director/Principal has limited knowledge and experience about the rehearsal/performance process. There are basically three choices for you.
    1. Keep doing what you are doing and hope that he sees the value in your work.