Open Forum

View Only

Department Favoritism and Struggles

• 1.  Department Favoritism and Struggles

Posted 11-19-2016 08:45

I am in need of guidance from my fellow educators that love this field as much as I do.

I am a first year teacher in a small school district where every student is in every program. I am in the process of rebuilding the theatre department from its many years in shambles and within less than 3 months, I have developed a Thespian Troupe, my Thespians will be going to their 1st state conference and currently collaborating with Special Education Department for a SPED performance. In my school district, band and choir are favored by principals support (1.They are run by a married couple and 2. the principal's children are in band and choir). In planning my season, the principals have wanted me to change my schedule (cancel and reschedule performance dates that have already been paid for) around the band and choir because they need my students that have chosen to be in my program. I have fought and said no and my dates have stayed because I did this months in advance. Because of willingness to not back down has caused some tension with the choir and band because they are not used to having a theatre teacher with a back bone and always get what they ask for.