Open Forum

View Only
  • 1.  Administration Restrictions

Posted 09-30-2016 10:36

Does anyone have issues with their administration placing restrictions on performance? I'm not talking materials. Allow me to tell you my story.

This is my first year at this school (public high school). We're doing Monica Flory's Once Upon A Pandora's Box for our fall mainstage. I was told we're not allowed to do Saturday performances anymore (after I had already paid for 3 shows), so they allowed me a Wednesday in-school show. Let's fast forward. The in-school performance is this coming Wednesday. Administration e-mails me TODAY to tell me that we have a 200-ticket limit for our in-school show. Our auditorium seats 750. We're being forced to replace a performance with a possible $7,500 revenue (750 tickets at $10 each) with a performance that has a maximum revenue of $400 (200 tickets at $2 each). I know it's not all about the money, but my kids have worked HARD on this show because we've had every possible obstacle thrown at us (can't be here on weekends, no power tools, stage double/triple booked until today, etc.) and I want them to be able to share it with the school. my non-performing students will take up half of those seats alone (their required to see it)!

I have a meeting with my principal to discuss this in about an hour.

Anyone have any advice?

------------------------------
    Heather Cribbs
    Theatre Director
    New Smyrna Beach High School
    New Smyrna Beach, FL

• 2.  RE: Administration Restrictions

Posted 09-30-2016 11:07

Did admin give you a reason for this type of restriction?

If you can put together a quick budget showing the costs of mounting the show. After you allow admin to look at it ask why you are being restricted to from the potential to raise an additional $7,100. Is there a policy that you were unaware of?