Open Forum

View Only
  • 1.  Rehearsal schedule for play and tips needed

Posted 09-01-2016 11:39

Hi everyone!

I am a first year theater teacher and about to cast our fall play! I have been acting for 20 years but now I am teaching and freaking out a little. For a non-musical play what do your rehearsal schedules look like? Do you rehearse after school everyday? How long? We will have about 8 weeks to pull it together The play is How I Met Your Mummy off of Pioneer Drama. I would greatly appreciate ANY tips and advice!!! Thanks!

------------------------------
    Leslie Infalt
    San Tan Valley AZ

• 2.  RE: Rehearsal schedule for play and tips needed

Posted 09-01-2016 12:32

First... deep breaths. In...Out...In...Out... You'll be fine.  ;^)

It really depends on how long you are planning on rehearsing prior to opening. I personally have a longer rehearsal period than most people because I can only rehearse my productions 3 days a week. My competitive improv team has rehearsals on the other 2 and we have a 2 week break in the middle of my rehearsal time. I usually rehearse about 10 weeks (including hell week ) at an hour and a half each rehearsal (or you know... 8  hours for a wonderful week).

I also don't call anyone who will not be actively used in rehearsal that day. I find that everything runs more smoothly if the entire cast is only called when absolutely necessary. It allows for more individual attention to the kids who are working specific scenes and helps keep the distractions to a minimum. I'd "feel out" what the kids think is "reasonable" and then take that into consideration before making a final decision. Whatever you decide you need to stick with though. You'll be fighting with kids following through if you don't. Remember, it's a lot easier to cancel or end rehearsals early than it is to add them!

Shira Schwartz
    Chandler Unified School District
    Chandler AZ

• 3.  RE: Rehearsal schedule for play and tips needed

Posted 09-02-2016 08:23