Open Forum

View Only
  • 1.  Musical Theatre Independent Project Suggestions

Posted 06-22-2016 11:52

I am a middle school theatre teacher who teaches both a 7th and 8th grade Musical Theatre class.  This year, we will be working on several pieces for competition during class time.  Not all students will be in all numbers, which means that I will have students with down-time each period.   I am trying to find an independent project for the students to work on while I am working with other groups.  I am looking for suggestions for a project that can be worked on independently, quietly, and in the classroom.  Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Mickey J. Stone, M.S.

Theatre Director

7th Grade Team Leader

Sarasota School of Arts & Sciences

"Creativity is allowing yourself to make mistakes.  Art is knowing which ones to keep." -Scott Adams

• 2.  RE: Musical Theatre Independent Project Suggestions

Posted 06-23-2016 08:45
      |   view attached

I teach a musical theatre class at the high school level, and we do a production each year. When students are not rehearsing on stage during class time, I have a series of journal questions that they need to be working that relate to the show and the character that they play.  I have attached the journal assignments from our production of Willy Wonka jr. Some of them came from the suggestions from MTI and some I made up. I have also had students make props, write bios, and paint scenery during their off stage moments.

------------------------------
    Marla Blasko
    Theatre Arts Director
    Columbia MD

Attachment(s)

docx
    Journals.docx   230 KB 1 version

• 3.  RE: Musical Theatre Independent Project Suggestions

Posted 06-23-2016 09:46