Open Forum

View Only
  • 1.  Southern Oregon Summer Program

Posted 05-18-2016 16:57
    Has anyone done the Masters in Theatre Studies for Theatre Educators program at Southern Oregon University? Two weeks in the Summer for three years with some online course work during the school year? Can anyone give me some feedback on the program? I have a Master's in Secondary Education, but am looking to teaching more college level courses.
    Thanks!
    Chris from GA

---------------------------------
    Chris Reaves
    Theatre Director/ Fine Arts Chair
    Cedartown High School
    Cedartown, Georgia
    ---------------------------------

• 2.  RE: Southern Oregon Summer Program

Posted 05-19-2016 06:09

I have not done that program, but I was accepted to it last year when I decided to go back to college. It looks like a great program and the area is beautiful. The only down sides I found was having to live with my mother for a month (just kidding) and it seemed to focus very heavy on stagecraft classes.

I decided to attend the University of Houston's Summer MA program for Theatre Educators, I am currently in my second year. I love the program. In my opinion it is a much broader program not just teaching stagecraft, but also voice, acting and directing. Also a big plus is each year we travel to a different theatre city to study for a week, last year Chicago, this year London and RADA, next year NYC. Most of my students are more likely to attend Houston over SOU and I can commute (no living with mom.)

In my limited experience and research if you want to teach JC then then either program will get your foot in the door, but if you want to teach at the university level you will find it easier with a terminal degree like a MFA or a PHD in a theatre related concentration.

I was considering the move to the JC system, but a JC teacher friend told me a joke that kind of hit home.

What's the difference between a college freshman and a high school senior? Three months.