Open Forum

View Only
  • 1.  Reading List

Posted 04-14-2016 11:05
    This forum is the best!  I'm teaching a theatre methods class next fall to university students who are preparing to become future theatre teachers.  Would you please help me compile "an essential reading list" of shows these students should know?  I graduated back in the 80's and contemporary shows are not one of my strength.  I'm thinking of works for production, scene work, and study.  Thank you for your input and collective knowledge.

--
    Russ Saxton
    Dixie High School
    350 East 700 South
    Saint George, Utah 84790
    (Cell)  435-632-9241
    (School)  435-673-4682
    Please note my e-mail has changed
    russ.saxton@washk12.org

• 2.  RE: Reading List

Posted 04-14-2016 21:22

Wow! There's so many...

For classwork Jonathan Dorf and Don Zolidis scripts make a hefty appearance in my classes. Pretty much anything from either of them I find works pretty well. Alan Haehnel scripts are another good choice. I also recommend having multiple versions of the same story. I think I have 5 Alice in Wonderlands (at least), a couple of Robin Hoods, a couple of 3 Musketeers, Dracula, etc. There are also some really nice adaptations of the classics you've probably read. The Diary of Anne Frank adapted by Wendy Kesselman is a good example. 

Some of the specific scripts my kids got really excited over and/or I thought provided a lot of learning opportunities were:

11 Variations of Friar John's Failure by Yuri Baraonsky(one act)

Booby Trap by Ed Monk (one act)

Happily Ever Once Upon by Virginia Kidd

The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde by Noah Smith

Beauty and the Beast by Timothy Mason

Sherlock Holmes and the West End Horror by Anthony Dodge