Open Forum

View Only
  • 1.  Decisions for Next Year

Posted 04-12-2016 15:03
    It's my first year teaching theater and English (my first year ever!). The school that I'm at is great in the sense that it's a magnet school where students are mainly focused on their program areas. The only downside is that there are only three ways to get your arts credit: Orchestra, Art or Theatre. My school does not have a legitimate theatre, it's a lecture hall with white boards and three wardrobes behind a wall. 
    I had the theatre club perform in the banquet hall for our murder mystery night (one night only). 
    My main issue is this: I have received my schedule for next year and I have 3 English preps and 3 Theatre preps instead of 2 English and 4 Theatre this year because we are losing an English teacher and not rehiring the position. 
    As a new teacher I still have a lot of requirements I need to finish to remove provisions off of my license and take the PLT praxis as well as complete onboarding hours by the end of next year. 
    I would also like a life outside of school. I like my students and the club but the hours are crazy, especially if they want to perform 2 shows next year instead of the one that we did this year. 
    The trouble was that in the Fall I told the students that it was a one night only performance. No set, heavy on props and costumes and it had a lot of improvisation with the audience. My techs decided that their skills were not being utilized, I had minimal lighting and 10 sound effects and a few costume changes along with taking tickets, selling concessions and  setting up and taking down pipe and drape and tables and chairs and collecting ballots of who the audience thought was the murderer. 
    The techs had attitude and the cast backed them up. I expressed to them that I've worked in professional and community theatre as both an actor and crew and director and that nothing is beneath you when you're contributing to a performance.