Open Forum

View Only
  • 1.  Quality work VS Cancelling

Posted 03-21-2016 10:00

Let me begin by saying that while I've been teaching/directing for 17 years, this is my first year at this position in my current school.  Prior to this year, there was little in the way of professional productions, most performances were student written pieces that were not professional.   I have worked incredibly hard to rebrand the Theatre Department directing  "Almost, Maine" to rave reviews and with the help of the Choir teacher we put on the school's first musical in 21 years to 2 sold out houses and again rave reviews.  

Now to my problem, my 'upper' level students have been working on "All I really Need to Know I Learned in Kindergarten."  It's not awful but it's not great...and the problem lies with a handful of Seniors who just don't care.  I've billed it as a showcase and am not selling tickets but mostly I'm concerned about the perception that I've worked so hard to change this year. It's a double-edged sword because if I cancel, that's unprofessional but if they go on and it's just a mess, that does damage all the work we've done, students and teacher alike. I don't anticipate a large crowd, just a few family and friends, and can qualify the work as a 'classroom project' with a short curtain speech.  As I write this I see that I must go through with the production but my question is how damaging might this be to our reputation?  

------------------------------
    Bernadette MacLeod
    Charlotte NC

• 2.  RE: Quality work VS Cancelling

Posted 03-21-2016 11:27

First let me say congratulations on rebranding your department. That is A LOT of work! Kudos to you.  :^D