Open Forum

View Only

Entitlement

• 1.  Entitlement

Posted 03-15-2016 21:35

I've read about similar problems to this one, and now it is my turn to vent. I am in my second year at this school. The teacher before me was blackballed by the students because they had lost their beloved teacher. He ended up not coming back and I was hired. Last year in the middle of our spring musical, a local theater company had auditions for a musical. Most of my leads auditioned and were cast. They promptly lost interest in our show and demanded to be released early for rehearsals for the other play. When the two music directors and I refused to allow them, attitudes went into the tank. Fortunately the orchestra director was able to guilt them back in until they finished the show. Fast forward to this year. The same company had auditions the same day as I did for my spring show. I had only five kids show up because I had said that they couldn't do both shows. I recruited heavily from my beginning classes and have a delightful cast. However, one senior, who needs the school show as his last requirement to get his performance diploma, went to both auditions. Now he and his mom are demanding that he be allowed to do both, that his work ethic is strong, that he is able to focus, and that I can't tell him what to with his time outside of school. Said student quit the musical last year because he wasn't cast as a lead and didn't bother to even memorize his lines for the class final last year. He didn't audition for either the two other plays this year. I told him that I was sorry, choices are hard to make, but that he had to choose one play or the other...that I needed his complete focus. My department chair, and head of the the performing arts program, told him the same thing. Now, however, I'm to meet with administration, student and parents to get a decision. I said I wanted the dept. chair in the meeting as well. I'm thinking union representation might not hurt either.