Open Forum

View Only
  • 1.  Structuring Monologue Unit

Posted 02-28-2016 00:34

Hello! This is my first year of teaching drama, and I was wanting to do a monologue unit with my Drama classes. I want to make sure I do this right, where kids get the most out of the unit and are actually engaged, so I was wondering how other people have structured their monologue units. What activities do you do in this unit and how long do you make it? What do you do to scaffold Drama 1 students so that they feel ready to be on stage by themselves and memorize a 1-3 minute monologue? How do you structure rehearsal time so that kids are actually rehearsing their monologues? Any and all advise would be welcome. Thanks!

• 2.  RE: Structuring Monologue Unit

Posted 02-29-2016 06:54
    I have done this several ways. In an ideal situation, have students select their own monologue. Or I have also printed out a large selection and they "speed date" the monologues. They then select from those. Students have one day in class just to go over and work on memorization/familiarization on their own (usually just remainder of the class where they select). Then I do a short primer (middle school teacher here) on marking their monologue. They spend class doing that. Then I assign partners for a day and they run with partner, giving each other feedback. During that time I go around and provide side coaching. If it is a small class, I might even have them go one at a time in front of everyone and provide feedback in front of the class.

I also have a cool scavenger hunt sheet that I came up with last year that is fun. It has them do their monologues in lots of different ways in front of different classmates. Helps with memorization and connection to material. Present for class for a grade... Then done.

Sent from my iPad

• 3.  RE: Structuring Monologue Unit

Posted 02-29-2016 07:55

Here's a rough sequence that I find helpful (over multiple days of class)

1. Identify objective/obstacle/tactics