Open Forum

View Only

Scripts for analysis

• 1.  Scripts for analysis

Posted 02-17-2016 12:08

I am a drama teacher with very little background in drama.  (I'm a music teacher)... I would love for my more advanced students (9-12th) to do some script and character analysis but don't really know which scripts would be appropriate for that age group or where to even look.  Can anyone recommend any scripts, monologues, etc OR books or anthologies that I should look into?  I really appreciate it!

------------------------------
    Julie Arthur
    Teacher
    Houston Academy
    Dothan AL

• 2.  RE: Scripts for analysis

Posted 02-17-2016 22:11

My students have really appreciated Glass Menagerie. There should a lot to work with in the script, plus there are plenty of monologues, and the scenes are fun to do.

Ken Buswell
    Drama Teacher
    Peachtree City, GA
    http://mcintoshtheater.org/

• 3.  RE: Scripts for analysis

Posted 02-18-2016 08:22
    The first place I would look would be their English class canon. If a play or novel is in that curriculum then it would be appropriate for the age group, the students can see how an English class approaches a script differently than a Theatre class might or how a novel is translated into a viable script, plus there are all the cross-curricular advantages. You could also check in other core classes as to what is being studied, and find a play that mirrors that topic. Social Studies is great--so many topics to choose from that, again, are practically pre-approved for appropriateness and terrific for showing how theatre reflects and supports other curricula.

• 4.  RE: Scripts for analysis

Posted 02-18-2016 10:33