Open Forum

View Only

light and sound technology

• 1.  light and sound technology

Posted 01-31-2016 19:24
    What are people using to control the lights and sound?  I know there's some great computer tech out there for lights, for instance, to make it all computerized instead of using sliders.  Could use some advice on what's out there and cost.

Karen L. Fairbank
    Director of College Counseling and Student Activities
    Chair, Social Studies Department

T H O M A S   J E F F E R S O N   S C H O O L

4100 S. Lindbergh Blvd.

St. Louis, MO  63127

Tel:   +1 314.843.4151, ext. 2360

Fax:  +1 314.843.3527

• 2.  RE: light and sound technology

Posted 02-01-2016 07:48

For sound: Q-Lab. 

It's a Mac program, and the free version powerful enough to run most shows. The paid version adds a ton of features. I have no experience with it as a light controller, but I understand it does that as well.

Scott

------------------------------
    Scott Piehler
    Director
    SUWANEE GA

• 3.  RE: light and sound technology

Posted 02-01-2016 07:58

i agree QLab is great! Most Broadway shows use it also so your students have entre into professional sound control.

For lighting i would inquire at local colleges/universities and talk to local stage lighting companies. You need someone to come in and give recommendations that would work now and in the future for your facility.

John Perry
    Drama Instructor
    Atherton High School
    Louisville KY

• 4.  RE: light and sound technology

Posted 02-01-2016 09:05

Hello,

Are you looking for upgrades to physical equipment (sound board/light board) or simply adding software programs to enhance what you already have and how you do things? 

Thanks,

Dana

Dana Taylor
    MSD of Mt. Vernon
    Evansville IN

• 5.  RE: light and sound technology

Posted 02-01-2016 12:48