Open Forum

View Only

Casting/auditions

• 1.  Casting/auditions

Posted 01-06-2016 21:32
    Today I had auditions for our spring musical (School House Rock Live!) and although students have known for weeks, only five students signed up. Of those, only four actually showed up, and of those, only two could feasibly be cast. Has anyone run into this issue? What have you done? Is it just me or are students too busy now to do shows? I am new to this program, basically rebuilding from the ground up. It's tough not to take this personally...

Sent from my iPhone

• 2.  RE: Casting/auditions

Posted 01-07-2016 06:27

Casting is a constant struggle for us.  I'm worried about the lack of interest in auditions for Millie next week despite the successes echoed here on this very website.

For us, changing to a smaller show to cater to only those who have come to tryouts is a scary prospect too since smaller casts mean smaller houses. I work in a Title I district and while we are lucky to have a theatre program, the audiences are made up of only friends and family of the cast with few exceptions.  We struggle to break even every year.

So while I offer no solutions at this time, perhaps you can take solace in knowing that there are others in your same predicament.  

I share your pain. 

------------------------------
    Stephen Benjamin
    Director of Theatre Arts
    Garfield Heights OH

• 3.  RE: Casting/auditions

Posted 01-07-2016 08:01

I say change the show. If you have a feeder school, use students from those schools. From experience, SCHOOLHOUSE ROCK is not a show that students are overjoyed to audition for. The show is more suitable for a classroom production. In rebuilding a program, you have to look attractive to the kids. How big is the program? Feel free to email me personally arichmond@wclark.k12.in.us

Alonzo Richmond
    Director of Theatre Arts
    Silver Creek High School
    Sellersburg, IN

• 4.  RE: Casting/auditions

Posted 01-08-2016 05:41